The Road to Cleveland..

I had 4 months to prepare and even though I got through all my education priding myself on the fact that I did my best work while under pressure, this was not something I could pull an all nighter on the eve of April 6th. I needed to start to focus on bringing these numbers down. Black and white flags are meant for races, not for health charts. No more black and white flags for me. So I rolled up my sleeves and got to work. First bill of order, a good fish oil supplement. I felt a difference almost immediately. It took my sleep from good to comatose. Honestly. It was like a lullaby in a capsule.
Next, a focus on food. Real, whole, green, nutritious food. But all the while reserving space in my cabinet for chocolate chips. A girl has her limits…
This approach worked for a few days, but consecutive discipline are two words that have not often walked hand and hand in my life. It was the dead of winter and comfort food beckoned. I needed a better plan… something finite to get under my belt as a jump start in the right direction. After some searches and great deliberation, I landed on this book. It was a 10 day commitment. Not too long. Not too short. Just right I reassured myself with a very heavy sigh.
It was hard. I whined. I might even have cried. And alas, I cheated. Not a complete “Oh I blew it so why bother to continue” kind of cheat, but more of a “I’m going to eat these sugared up flavored chips before I rip someones head off” kind of cheat. It was only once, and it was so worth it. What can I say, I’m human. I made it to the end of the 10 days. And yes, I felt better. And yes, I shed a pound or two. And yes, it did seem to reset my sugar cravings.. But I was happy to resume a more normal existence. My comfort does not reside in extremes. It became clear to me that this was going to be an evolution and not a sprint. Lao Tzu’s words never seemed more appropriate: Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.

Leave a Reply

