Home Opener..

April had arrived and I really needed some peanuts and Cracker Jack. The fact that my appointment was only 2 days after Easter was not lost on me that I couldn’t curl up with my Peeps & chocolate bunnies. Being within striking distance of my appointment, the last thing I wanted to do after all my efforts was to have reversed my high cholesterol only to wind up with high insulin.
As a means of getting through the holiday weekend I found some recipes that would satisfy my sweet tooth but were not bankrupt in the nutrition department. A few years back I had bid my goodbyes to Aunt Jemima and Mrs. Buttorworth in favor of pure maple syrup, but really only used it for pancakes and waffles. At this point I started learning how to incorporate it into sweet recipes. While “less bad” than regular sugar, it at least comes with some daily value of calcium, potassium, iron, zinc and manganese. My highly sensitive taste buds never knew the difference. Having made my battle plan to get through Easter weekend, it was then that I started to get cold feet with this whole trip west.  My appointment was for 8:00 am and was expected to last about 4 hours. From there I would be sent to the lab for fasting blood work. I started to do the math in my head for how long I will have gone without eating and all I could think was, Oy. Lord help me.
If you could have been a fly on the wall in my head, you may or may not have heard the likes of this: It’s too far. I shouldn’t miss a day of work after a holiday. I could get lost. I might faint. My dog will miss me. My cholesterol might still be high. It might snow (we are talking Cleveland after all). And then as clear as a bell, as if Babe Ruth were speaking to me himself, I heard this:
Never let the fear of striking out get in your way.
Honestly, it’s not easy being me.
Batter up!

Leave a Reply

