Patience Is A Virtue..

“And sure enough the waiting will end…if you can just wait long enough”  ~William Faulkner

I knew it would be noon on Friday before I would have the chance to call and inquire about these high markers in my blood work. And although only a matter of hours, it felt like a lifetime to wait. Turns out, they beat me to the punch. I had a voicemail from one of the nurses to please return her call because Dr. Young wanted to discuss my results. She went on to explain that they were closing at noon that day just to torment me for whatever reason but they would be back in the office by 8:00 am on Monday. You can bet your sweet patootie that for the first weekend of my life I became a clock watcher. The hours dragged…
At the stroke of 8:00 am on Monday, I called and did my best not to let my sleepless caffeine-induced anxiety translate over the phone. The nurse very calmly explained that Dr. Young said that my blood work was highly indicative of Celiac Disease. Celiac Disease? My fingers flew across my laptop keyboard and in one glance I learned that I’ll have to eliminate wheat, barley, rye and oats. Phew. It won’t be a walk in the park but I was immediately giving thanks that it wasn’t something worse. I can do this. This is manageable. My focus turned back to the nurse just as she was saying that the only way to get a confirmed diagnosis was to schedule an appointment with a gastroenterologist for an endoscopy. Wait…A who for a what? Oh she went on to explain that it’s a very simple procedure with IV sedation and they put a scope down your throat to biopsy your small intestines. I grabbed the arm of my chair to steady myself. Her definition of “simple” clearly came from an alternate dictionary not found on my planet. This was a level of Warrior for which I was not prepared.

One thought on “Patience Is A Virtue..

Leave a Reply

