The Present..

Let food be thy medicine, and medicine be thy food.
~ Hippocrates

My love of baking started with my Easy Bake Oven. Who knew a light bulb could cook up such goodness? Just two tablespoons of water, an 8 or 10 minute wait and voila, an individual cake that I didn’t have to share with 6 older brothers and sisters. Pure genius.
Now that the nail biting blood work and biopsy are behind me, and a new confidence and celiac diagnosis under me, I’ve got a whole new life unfolding before me. Instead of feeling stuck in a rut over what I can’t eat, I’m inspired to find what it is that I can eat. What better excuse to pore over every cookbook I’ve ever collected? And of course there are a plethora of online resources and food blogs that have been invaluable. How lucky am I that with my new found energy and clarity of mind, I get to go all Einstein and fill my research-loving heart with looking for gut-healthy recipes? Now this is what I call functional living.

Let’s head on over to my kitchen to see what I’ve been cooking up. A few disclaimers are in order here: First, I’m a reading teacher, not a photographer. I’m a rookie on this bench and my pictures reflect that. But Wayne Gretzky says: You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take. So my Warrior spirit says: Take this shot.
Second, this learning curve is huge. I’m so fortunate to have Trisha the nutritionist in Cleveland to guide me through. She has opened up a new world of options and alternatives in terms of ingredients that are right for my body. That being said, if you don’t like or disagree with any ingredients, by all means tweak it. It’s a free internet, do what works for you!
Here we go… I found this recipe for Blueberry Lemon Bread over at eatlocalgrown.com You can find it here. Below are the minor tweaks I made for myself.

IMG_0070

Ingredients:
1 and 1/2 cups blanched almond flour   **I used 1 cup almond flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose gluten free flour to make it a bit less dense.  
1/4 cup coconut flour, sifted
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
4 eggs
1/2 cup coconut oil or ghee, melted **I used coconut oil
1/3 cup raw honey or maple syrup **I used maple syrup
3 tbsp lemon juice
zest from 2 lemons **I used zest from only 1 lemon
1 to 1-1/2 cups fresh organic blueberries

FOR THE GLAZE:
1/3 cup coconut butter, softened
2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
2 tbsp raw honey or maple syrup **I used maple syrup
2 tbsp  lemon juice

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350′ F. Grease a loaf pan and cut a piece of parchment paper to line the bottom of pan.
Combine almond flour, coconut flour, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Set aside.
Whisk together eggs, coconut oil, honey/maple syrup, lemon juice, and lemon zest until well combined.
Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until well incorporated.
Spread one third of the batter (**I spread one half) onto bottom of prepared pan. Sprinkle 1/3 of the blueberries on top. Spread another third of the batter (**I spread the other half)  and another third of the blueberries. Repeat one more time with the remaining batter and berries.
Bake 32-37 minutes, (In my oven it took significantly longer to bake.  I just kept an eye on it until the top was set and starting to turn a golden brown.  I probably added 10 minutes to this cook time) until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cover with foil if top begins to brown too much. Remove from oven and allow to cool.
While loaf cools, prepare the glaze by whisking together all of the glaze ingredients. Add hot water 1 tablespoon at a time until you have a glossy, liquidy, smooth consistency. Once loaf has cooled, remove from pan and pour glaze over top of loaf, letting it drips down the sides. Enjoy!

This was straight from the oven:

IMG_0067

With the glaze:

IMG_0074

Ready to be devoured:

IMG_0088

IMG_0089

My daughter hasn’t been home to taste test this for me yet, however, the Tall Texan (not a born & raised Texan..but that’s another story for another time..) gave it a two thumbs up.  And if there are two bellies I like to make happy, it’s my daughter’s and the Tall Texan’s.  I hope you’ll go make someone’s belly happy.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

