The Follow Up..

My second visit to Cleveland in July was a bit more focused now that I had a diagnosis. My hour with Dr. Young was fascinating and enlightening as she explained the nuances of all of my tests. The pieces of the puzzle were all starting to fit together.

The time with the nutritionist was equally valuable.  Trisha is my lighthouse as I navigate the sea of celiac and being gluten free. While Dr. Young is soothing and calming, Trisha is a mover and a shaker.  She’s got food knowledge spilling out of her ears and I can’t absorb it fast enough.  This is the folder I was given on my first visit to the Cleveland Clinic.

IMG_0119

And this is how it looked after my second visit with Trisha:

IMG_0120

Sometimes my eyes glaze over when I look at it.  How can anyone, eh-em, “digest” that much information?  But then I remember her key points:

  • Drink half my body weight* in water everyday.  (Clearly she’s not a teacher stuck in a classroom all day.. but I am getting better at this..)  * In ounces.  
  • When at the grocery store, remember that anything with more than 5 ingredients is considered “processed food”
  • Avoid processed food. (Even if it’s gluten-free)
  • Follow the 80/20 rule.  (Whole foods, lots of veggies, healthy fats and lean protein 80% of the time.)
  • Gluten-free 100% time.

Five simple rules make that folder a whole lot less intimidating.  Thank goodness for the K.I.S.S. method or I’d be S.O.L.

Speaking of keeping it simple, I found this salad dressing and I can’t say enough about how easy and delicious it is.  I discovered it on the Tone It Up girls Karena & Katrina’s Instagram account and you can find it here.  I made some slight adjustments to it as I don’t like agave, and to balance out the acidity a bit for my palate.  You’ll need:

8 strawberries

1 TBS maple syrup

2 TBS olive oil

1 TBS fresh lemon juice

2 TBS apple cider vinegar

Toss it all into your food processor.

IMG_0075

And blend.

IMG_0106

I mix it up with kale, cabbage and sunflower and pomegranate seeds.

IMG_0057

Toss some grilled chicken over top, or serve with a piece of salmon and you’ve got yourself a meal.  The most recent time I made it I didn’t have any pomegranate seeds, so I opted for crispy chick peas.  You can find that recipe here.

IMG_0115

A word about the crispy chick peas.  They are spicy.  I loved the combination of the sweet dressing with the spicy seasoning.  But if spice is not your thing, I would omit the cayenne pepper and turmeric.

Simple.  Packed with nutrients.  And delicious.

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.

~Virginia Woolf

4 thoughts on “The Follow Up..

  1. Loving the direction your blog is taking with photos and recipe shares, Kathy! You’re a wonderful writer and your blog has really drawn me in. Keep up the great work! (And thanks for inspiring great self-care by your brave example.) xoxo

    Like

    1. Thank you dear Susi. That really means the world to me. You of all people understand that a creative outlet does a body good! And of course, a little encouragement goes a long way. Thank you for that. xo

      Like

  2. Welcome to the club! It is all worth it to feel better. I saw you stopped by my blog. I collect recipes that just happen to be GF with ingredients easy to find. I have a variety posted. For sweet treats, check out pumpkin flan, flan, flourless chocolate cake and I have some cookies too. I have been GF for 15 years and and am very happy to feel great. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

