The Envelope Please..

I’m excited that one of you is going to get The Healthy Mind Cookbook.  The author, Rebecca Katz, has signed a copy and you will receive it in the mail directly from her.  Here is how I set up the random generator:

IMG_4691

And here is the result:

IMG_4694

Commenter number 11 is Christine!  I will email you for your address to pass along to Rebecca.  You’re going to love it!

For the rest of you, I’ll keep highlighting her recipes and sharing here.  Speaking of, here is the recipe for the Fall Pear Crisp:

Filling:
4 Anjou pears, peeled, cored and cubed
2 Bosc pears, peeled, cored and cubed
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1 TBS minced fresh ginger
2 TBS freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 TBS water
1 TBS pure maple syrup
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp sea salt

Topping:
1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts *See note below
3/4 cup coarsely chopped pecans *See note below
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup coconut flour (or shredded coconut)
1/2 cup rolled oats *For celiac’s like myself, make sure the label says “certified gluten free”.  I buy Bob’s Red Mill.
3 TBS pure maple syrup
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp sea salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

To make the filling, combine the pears, cranberries, ginger, lemon juice, water, syrup, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl and toss until the fruit is well coated. Transfer the fruit mixture to a 2 quart baking dish or a 10 inch pie plate.

To make the topping, combine the walnuts, pecans, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, oil, coconut, oats, syrup, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl and stir until well combined. Spoon the topping evenly over the filling and lightly press with your fingers until the fruit is covered and the dish is full. Cover the dish with foil and bake for about 40 minutes, until the fruit is soft. Remove the foil and continue to bake for another 15 minutes to 20 minutes, until the topping is golden and the filling is bubbly. Let cool for at least 10 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.
Enjoy!

* Note: I did not use the walnuts or pecans.  I’m that finicky kid who has never really cared for nuts.  More importantly, I’ve had so many different reactions to all kinds of nuts over the years that I’m just better off avoiding them.  Instead, I doubled the amount of sunflower and pumpkin seeds as well as the oatmeal.  Whether you use Rebecca’s original recipe or my modified version–it is delicious.

There’s a flurry of excitement around here as we get ready for my nephew’s wedding this weekend.  I can’t wait to have my daughter home and to be with all of my family.

I’ll be back next week with another tale to tell and more recipes to share.

2 thoughts on “The Envelope Please..

  1. I’d love to find dried cranberries that don’t have added sugar. Are there any out there?
    Thanks for taking the time to share with us.

    Like

    1. Lisa, a friend of mine soaks hers and then rinses them real well to try and minimize the added sugar. Also, I have some whole, fresh ones in my fridge right now..I’m wondering if we couldn’t just cut them in half and toss them in? Problem solved! Nothing added–and they’d soften up in the cooking process.

      Like

Leave a Reply

