Back In The Saddle..

You can’t blame gravity for falling in love.
~Albert Einstein
Love was in the air last weekend as my nephew tied the knot with his beauty whom we all adore. The celebration kicked off on Friday night when my sister hosted a dinner for the bridal party and immediate families. There were wild flowers and mason jars and grace. So much grace. I couldn’t be more proud of my sister for the poise and strength she displayed not just that night, but the whole weekend.

While the weather didn’t really cooperate on Saturday and there was more than one set of chattering teeth, the bride and groom were unfazed as they said their “I do’s” in the chilly mist. The precocious little boy turned into a handsome man in the blink of an eye and I love being witness to it all.

After the ceremony, some of us warmed our hands and toes in my brother and sister-in-law’s suite before the reception. There may or may not have been a hard cider consumed, and then there were the M&M’s. So many (plain) M&M’s. I knew that the wedding cake & cookies would not be celiac friendly, so I did allow myself to hit the candy bowl more than once. While my discipline for being gluten free is hard and fast, my weakness for those little cuties is alive and well. The old ‘but they melt in your mouth not in your hand’ excuse is going to be a tough sell when I see Trisha next Tuesday, but that’s ok. A girl’s gotta live a little. It’s not every day that a man shall leave his mother and a woman leave her home, so it was worth it. Especially because there was love. So much love.
After a few days of the wedding (and sugar) high, I’m back in the saddle again.

These have been my go-to cookies as of late.

IMG_3171

The combination of the cinnamon (with it’s anti-inflammatory benefits), ginger (an antioxidant powerhouse) and the blackstrap molasses (rich in iron, calcium, magnesium and manganese) make those M&M’s a distant memory.
You can find the original recipe here. After a batch or two, I decided to cut back on the cloves and ginger just a bit as the original recipe packs a spicy bite. Of course you can always cool them down by slipping some vanilla ice cream between two cookies…but you didn’t hear that from me. With a trip to Cleveland on the horizon next week, I’m enjoying mine plain.
They’re good no matter how you slice them.
Chewy Ginger-Molasses Cookies
* with my modifications

3/4 cup chickpea flour
3/4 cup gluten-free oat flour *I ground my own gluten free oats in the food processor until it resembled flour.
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
1 teaspoon ground ginger  *I cut back to 1/2 tsp
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves  *I cut back to 1/8 tsp
2 1/2 tablespoons coconut oil, soft
3/4 cup coconut sugar (or light brown sugar)
2 tablespoons unsulphered blackstrap molasses
1 egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoons almond milk  * I used unsweetened vanilla hemp milk as I didn’t have almond milk.
Large grain sugar, for sprinkling  * I used a slight sprinkle of powdered sugar.

1. Preheat oven to 350° F and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices; set aside. In another large bowl, cream the oil and sugar with an electric mixer, then beat in the molasses. Add the egg, vanilla, and milk, and beat until combined.
3. A little at a time, add the dry ingredients to the wet and combine with electric mixer on medium-low until all flour is combined and no lumps remain (batter will be thick and sticky at this point). Refrigerate dough for at least 30 minutes.
4. Remove the dough from refrigerator. Using a tablespoon measure, scoop balls of dough out onto prepared baking sheet, spacing each cookie 2 inches apart. Bake for 16 to18 minutes (*In my oven they only needed 12 minutes) until they darken a bit and are fragrant.
5. Place cookies on a rack and let them cool before eating. Cookies can be stored at room temperature in an airtight container for up to 3 or 4 days.

IMG_3169

IMG_3170

IMG_3177

The perfect fall cookie.

One thought on “Back In The Saddle..

  1. Wow Kath! I am finally caught up. Boy, I hate that I got behind in your posts. I missed the cook book and 20th post celebration! So, here’s my congrats to you and a big cyber hug for how excited I am for this amazingly positive journey you are on, Kath!! Love seeing all this good stuff and the wonderful recipes. And I love that all your recipes are sweet! 🙂

    Talk to you soon!

    ~ jode

    Like

Leave a Reply

