October Road..

Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.

~William Cullen Bryant

I wish I could tell you that I’m one of those people who loves fall and smiles my way through it. I have so many friends who embrace the cooler temps and the shorter days and look so beautiful in their muted rust-tone sweaters and boots. But being allergic to late trees and ragweed, it’s a pretty tough sell for me. As a teenager, I could set my calendar by the first tickle in my nose—it was always August 15th. When I resumed getting allergy shots as an adult about 12 years ago, I can now go until about September 15th. Sniffling and hacking and a-choo’ing my way through a season hasn’t exactly endeared it to me. One of the things I inherited from my mother is my ability to sneeze. Growing up, we used to be able to hear her sneeze all the way up at the Hill’s house which was a quarter of a mile away—uphill. It’s a wonder she was never arrested for disturbing the peace. I’ve learned to set up an early warning system of an oncoming sneeze, otherwise I’m peeling a poor unsuspecting soul off the ceiling. Lovely.
Fortunately, my mom instilled a bit of a sense of humor in me about it. Back in the late ’60’s and early ’70’s she belonged to one of those Children’s Weekly Reader Book Clubs and once a month a new book would come in the mail. How I loved those deliveries. I credit the smell of the fresh paper and my mom’s intonations as she read them to me as to why I love books so much to this very day. Anyway, one of them was called: “Stand Back,” Said the Elephant, “I’m Going to Sneeze!” I wish I could show you a picture of my tattered and torn copy, but I keep it at school to read to my kids this time of year. Here is a picture that I pulled off of Amazon.

FullSizeRender
It’s a classic, and a perfect introduction to my little foible, especially for the younger kids who haven’t been indoctrinated yet…

So October has been made more bearable to me by the rise in popularity of pumpkin. I love pumpkin anything. The other night the Tall Texan and I went to our favorite little Italian restaurant where we always sit at the same table and the wait staff are so mindful of my celiac. After dinner a friend joined us for a drink, and he ordered pumpkin beer. It came beautifully rimmed with cinnamon and brown sugar. What I would have given for just one gulp. Instead, I sat there like one of Pavlov’s dogs…he’d raise his glass and take a sip and I’d take my napkin and wipe the drool from my mouth.
I left there that evening with pumpkin on my brain and couldn’t wait to find something I could eat to satisfy that craving. So yesterday I set out to make the Flourless Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies that I had put in my archives since my diagnosis. Sadly, they were not just a fail, but an epic fail. They looked like something you would dig up on an archaeological site. Oh well, you’ll have those days…
This morning when I woke up and saw the leftover pumpkin in my refrigerator, I remembered a recipe for pumpkin crepe-cakes. I almost did a cartwheel across my kitchen and got to work. Of course I had to make a few adjustments because I didn’t have the protein powder that she calls for, but you can find her original recipe here. They were delicious.

IMG_0249

With just a dusting of cinnamon and some pure maple syrup:

IMG_0251

Just what the doctor ordered:

IMG_0253

Here is the recipe, with my minor tweaks:

Pumpkin Protein Crepe-Cakes (by the time I was done with them, let’s just call them Pumpkin Pancakes)

INGREDIENTS
1/4 c canned pumpkin puree
1 banana – mashed
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 eggs – whisked
2 tbsp of your favorite protein powder *I didn’t have any protein powder so I just added 1 TBS of flax meal and  3 TBS gluten free pancake mix
1 tbsp coconut flour
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1-2 tbsp butter

INSTRUCTIONS
In a medium sized bowl, mash your banana with a fork.
In the same bowl, add the vanilla, whisked eggs and pumpkin and stir to combine.
In a separate small bowl, whisk together the cinnamon, coconut flour, protein powder.  *Flax meal or simply gf pancake mix
Add the dry ingredients into the wet and stir to combine.
Preheat a griddle or a large saute pan on medium heat.
Add 1 tbsp butter and allow it to melt.
Pour small pancakes into the griddle or pan and cook on each side for about 3 minutes or until golden
With each batch, add more butter to prevent too much sticking if you are using a non-stick pan
Serve with butter, ground cinnamon and a drizzle of pure maple syrup or honey.

Breakfasts like this pave a much smoother October road for me.

4 thoughts on “October Road..

  1. Kath, I didnt’ read your actual latest entry til now! (Thought I was all caught up!) I had no idea your allergies were such a drag. 😦 And your sneezing story! A good one for sure. My mom did the Scholastic Reader thing too and I dearly love those books. She still has them and I occasionally will go up and look through them and a bunch of memories come rushing back. Love them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

