A Hard Rain’s a-Gonna Fall

I have learned that to be with those I like is enough.
~ Walt Whitman
I flew south for a few days this past weekend. A change of scenery and some warmer temperatures is always something to look forward to. However, traveling has proven to be the hardest part of having celiac disease. Gone are the days of throwing a few t-shirts and shorts into a bag and hopping on a plane. Leaving the confines of my own kitchen where I can carefully control all aspects of my food is a bit daunting and takes a fair amount of planning. Not surprisingly, airports and roadside jiffy marts are gluten land mines and offer very little in the way of fresh, whole foods. Not one who is easily deterred, I’ve resorted to taking much of my food with me. (The Tall Texan just shakes his head..) So off I went with my oh-so-close-to-the-fifty-pound-limit suitcase half stuffed with food to the Lone Star State. And really, me and my enormous bag fit right in because everything’s bigger in Texas, am I right?
After a lovely evening visiting with my daughter who is now living and working in Houston, the Tall Texan and I set off for Austin where we were meeting up with two other couples. We were hoping for lots of outdoor time around a fire, enjoying barbecue and Formula One racing activities, but the remnants of Hurricane Patricia had other plans for us. Boy did it rain. And it rained, and it rained, and it rained. But our spirits were not dampened. We slid on our Gortex gear and braved the elements. More importantly, we shared a beautiful weekend with beautiful people.

As I started back to the cool, blue north, I was starving. My luggage was lighter and my gluten-free reserves were gone. The only thing I could wrestle up at the airport was an apple and a banana. Home sweet home was calling and after all that damp weather, I needed some warming comfort food. I don’t know a lot of people who grew up eating ham hash, but it was one of my mom’s specialties. Being a depression era baby, nothing went to waste in our house. From the leftover Easter ham, came ham hash, and I loved it. That blustery night of my return, this recipe  for Sweet Potato Apple Sausage Hash was calling my name.

IMG_0291

This was the sausage I chose to keep it on the lighter side:

IMG_0307

INGREDIENTS
2 medium sweet potatoes – chopped into 1/2 inch pieces (loaded with beta-carotene, which gets converted into vitamin A, which boosts the brain’s plasticity)
1 onion – roughly chopped (rich source of antioxidant flavonoids to boost memory)
4 cloves garlic – minced (great for cardiovascular and overall health)
1/2 c mushrooms – roughly chopped (a vitamin B powerhouse)
3 pre-cooked sausages – sliced (I used a chicken sausage with only 5 ingredients)
2 tbsp butter (a healthy fat)
6 eggs – I only used two, and I buy mine at our local food co-op so I know they’re among the freshest I can find. (provides healthy amounts of vitamin B12)
1 tsp salt – or to taste
1/2 tsp pepper – or to taste

INSTRUCTIONS
1 Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
2 Preheat a large skillet on medium heat and add your butter.
3 Add the sweet potato and onion and cook about 5 minutes or until the potato begins to soften.
4 Add the sausage and cook another 5 minutes – stirring frequently.
5 Note: if you aren’t using a non-stick pan, your veggies may begin to stick, but don’t be concerned. You can always add some more cooking fat if you are worried.
6 Add the garlic and mushrooms and let cook for another few minutes or until mushrooms start to shrink down.
7 Carefully crack the eggs on top of the hash and place into the oven.
8 Bake for 15 minutes
9 Serve over spinach. (I didn’t have any fresh spinach so I enjoyed mine straight up)

Ready for the oven:

IMG_0294

Fresh from the oven:

IMG_0296

Let’s eat!

IMG_0298

This little diddy would make my momma proud.  It was delicious.

2 thoughts on “A Hard Rain’s a-Gonna Fall

  1. Yum Kathy! This is the kind of breakfast Ollie makes all the time! A great mash up of good stuffs like this with eggs. Glad you had a great weekend away!

    Like

Leave a Reply

