One of These Things is Not Like the Other..

If you are grateful for everything then whatever you have is enough.

~ J. Baadsgaard

I was home from school today recovering from another dental visit that I had yesterday afternoon.  Honestly, I should be a poster child for people to floss their teeth.  If I had a nickel for every time my mom told me to wash behind my ears and floss my teeth, I’d be a very rich woman.  But growing up, I just thought that was something perfunctory that all mothers said, and therefore didn’t heed the advice.  I was well into adulthood before I became a maniac about flossing my teeth. As a result, I seem to spend an inordinate amount of time in a dentist’s chair.  But the up side is that I really couldn’t have chosen a better day to be at home.  It was blue skies, sunshine and unseasonably warm temperatures. The perfect kind of day to open up the kitchen windows and bake.

After a recent post, someone asked me why I go to the trouble of buying my eggs from my local co-op.  I guess it’s a multi-tiered answer, but this photo will help me illustrate.  Can you see that one of these things is not like the others?

IMG_0357

Today when I wanted to do my baking, I only had one egg left.  I didn’t feel up to driving across town so I zipped to my little corner store and bought regular grocery store quality eggs.  Did they do the job?  Yes.  But can you see the difference in the color?  The bright orange one is from a chicken that has been raised on sunshine, bugs and grass, just like nature intended.  This color is made distinctive by high amounts of Vitamin A, D, E, K2, B-12, folate, riboflavin, zinc, calcium, beta carotene, choline, and tons of omega 3 fatty acids, including DHA, EPA, and ALA. A pasture-raised egg is a true superfood. Do they cost more?  They do.  But with my recent diagnosis of celiac, my body has gone heaven only knows how long without absorbing all the proper nutrients.  I am now intent on fueling it with the best possible nutrition that I can.  At this point in time, I would rather pay the local farmer rather than the local pharmacy.  Best of all, these eggs don’t just have an expiration date.  They give you a “laid on” date.  And as you can see, the freshness proof is in the pudding.

So after my egg science project, I saw some pears that were good and ripe and just begging to be used.  Autumn Pear Cake that I found here was just what the dentist ordered to aid in my recovery.  I followed her recipe exactly with these specifics of my own:

  • for sugar I used half coconut sugar and half brown sugar
  • for milk I used my beloved hemp milk because it’s what I always have on hand
  • for flour I used gluten-free Otto’s Cassava Flour
  • for oil I used coconut oil (put the jar in a hot water bath to soften it)
  • for baking powder I used 1 teaspoon

IMG_0359

I love it when the sun drenches my kitchen:

IMG_0363

I never would have thought to put the whole fruit into the cake:

IMG_0365

But I love the effect:

IMG_0369

Fresh from the oven:

IMG_0372

First slice:

IMG_0376

Pure joy:

IMG_0381

One of the best parts of my day was the delivery of my new chalk board placemats shown above. I have been admiring them from afar for a few years now, and finally decided that my white farm table needed something new and different.  I just love them.  You can find them here.  

It’s been the kind of day where I find myself grateful for everything.  Problem teeth and all.

Leave a Reply

