It’ll Do You Good..

Change is hard at first, messy in the middle, and gorgeous at the end.
~Robin Sharma

We all have things that we’re good at and not so good at. Me, I’m not so good with change. Change in the weather makes me sneeze…. Change in plans makes me want to stay home… Change in the amount of daylight we get makes me want to live in my flannel pajamas and store seeds and nuts in my cheeks…
It may be in part because growing up, I always lived in the same house. Prior to leaving for college, the biggest move I ever made was from my old bedroom to my new bedroom. And even that required a few transitionary nights of sleeping on my parents floor until I warmed up to my “new” surroundings. Yes, I guess you could say my quirks have been with me since birth. Maybe as the youngest of seven, so many things were already established and in place in my world, that that’s the way I always wanted to keep them: just so.
Sometimes when I come home from school, I take 20 minutes to decompress and will mindlessly scroll through social media. Today I came across a survey/quiz type thing that intrigued me. So I spent a couple minutes with it and waited for it to ‘calculate’ my results. Well…   Here’s what it said:
“You are happiest when your life plans have been ‘cast in iron’. You’re convinced that it’s possible to achieve harmony and peace of mind without changing anything, and that changes simply stress you out.” Dang…
It went on to say:
“The two most important things for you are consistency and planning. Sometimes you feel confusion and fear in the face of change, and prefer to avoid it if you can. On the other hand, when you face a situation you are familiar with, you handle it with an enviable degree of calm.” Coincidence? Perhaps. Goofy online quiz for suckers like me? Probably. Describes me to a tee? Definitely.

Speaking of changes, this marks Trisha the nutritionist’s last week over at the Cleveland Clinic before she moves. I’ve been looking over all her notes in case I have any last minute questions for her before she goes. Based on my nutritional analysis, she has been instrumental in recommending specific foods to help boost my deficiencies and to aid in navigating my celiac.  Undoubtedly, one last communication with her will be in order before I wrap my head around the changing of her guard.

Here is a glimpse of my “NutrEval” as it’s called.  It told Dr. Young that my vitamin A & E counts are good:

FullSizeRender-6

However, my B vitamin counts need some work:

IMG_0455

Herein lies the beauty of Functional Medicine.  Dr. Young and Trisha take this information and put together a plan that is tailored to my nutritional needs.  This is not one-size-fits-all medicine.  This is not them handing over a prescription to ‘fix me’.  This is about educating me on where my needs are and giving me a road map to follow (or not…the choice is ultimately mine) for optimum health.

With these guidelines in mind, I spend a fair amount of time looking for recipes that are both nutritious and delicious. With the shorter days and cooler temperatures, I have been craving pasta. This weekend I found just the thing. The ultimate comfort food, but one that packs a protein punch with a dollop of healthy fats.  Flax Oil Basil Pesto with Penne & Roasted Vegetables.  Anything that begins with fresh basil is off to a good start:

IMG_0402

A few ingredients into the food processor:

FullSizeRender-5

Pesto perfection:

IMG_0412

Roast some vegetables:

IMG_0415

Prep the (gluten-free for me) pasta:

IMG_0429

Serve it up:

IMG_0441

Devour:

FullSizeRender-4

As much as I resist things, I’m learning that change can be good.  Yes, maybe even gorgeous at times.

You can find this beautiful and delicious recipe here.  

One thought on “It’ll Do You Good..

Leave a Reply

