Running With the Turkeys

One of the things I learned over at the Cleveland Clinic is what’s called 4,7,8 breathing.  For detailed instructions on this, go here.  In a nutshell, you place the tip of your tongue on the roof of your mouth just above your teeth and keep it there throughout the exercise.  Close your mouth and take a breath in for 4 seconds, hold for 7 seconds, and exhale for 8 seconds.  Trisha had me do it in her office and I was amazed at how something so simple could be so calming & centering.  It comes in handy if you ever happen to overdose on world news like I did in the past week.  Oy.

I’m headed south for the holiday. While I am feasting on turkey and (gluten-free) stuffing, I think I will simultaneously be fasting from the news.  Sometimes we need to unplug and say enough is enough. Before I go, I wanted to remind you about the Guittard Chocolate giveaway.  If you are a U.S. resident, leave a comment by midnight Tuesday, November 24th for a chance to get some delicious chocolate.  This giveaway has me thinking of the first time I ever won something.  Coincidentally, it was also Thanksgiving week and I was in early elementary school.  We had to color and name a turkey.  I remember how quickly I set to work on coloring that turkey…but what I also remember is wondering why the girl sitting next to me kept hanging her tongue out while she colored.  It was like a coordinated reflex:  she’d pick up a crayon and out came her tongue.  The fact that I still think of this almost 45 years later surely speaks more to my quirks than it does hers.. Honestly I have no idea why my mind works the way it does.  But boy was I excited when the student council representatives came to our classroom and announced that I had won.  It wasn’t so much for my coloring prowess, but the name I chose for him.  My classmates stuck with safe names like Tom or Sam.  My turkey’s name?  “Rootin’-Tootin’ Turkey”.   Hmmmm, not sure where that came from…

Back to the subject at hand:  chocolate.  I made these beauties over the weekend and I highly recommend.  Baby Ruth Candy Bars from Scratch.  Need I say more?

Who knew you could make caramel out of coconut milk and maple syrup?

IMG_0462

Jessie over at faring-well.com who is the mastermind behind this recipe used peanuts in hers.  I opted for the anti-itch version and used raw pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds:

IMG_0467

It was hard to be patient and wait for them to set up in the freezer:

IMG_0469

The chocolate was so hot that it steamed up the lens of my camera:

IMG_0470

I used a combination of Guittard 70% cacao baking bars and 63% cacao chocolate chips:

IMG_0473

So delicious:

IMG_0478-2

IMG_0479

All the goodness of a candy bar, but none of the refined sugars.  Coconut milk is rich in unique substances called medium-chain triglycerides which improve cognitive performance.  Dark chocolate is one of the best sources of antioxidants on the planet.  Pure maple syrup (Grade B) contains minerals like zinc and manganese.  Pumpkin seeds are a good source of iron and pack a brain-healthy punch.  And sunflower seeds are high in vitamin E and have been linked to reduction in inflammation.  There you have it:  5 simple ingredients full of nutrition.  Oh the simple joys of baking in your own kitchen!

Wishing you all a beautiful and restful Thanksgiving.

“Give thanks for unknown blessings already on their way.” 

~Native American Wisdom

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Running With the Turkeys

  1. The quote at the end is one of my favorites ever, Kathy, and WOW! What a sensationally scrumptious treat you created! I do believe some of these are in order for Christmas. Now if only we could bring this nutrient-rich dessert’s calorie count down! *sigh* Blessings for a wonderful holiday, dear friend. ❤

    Like

  2. You had me at caramel. These are being made this weekend for my kids! My constantly hungry 16 year old who claims we have nothing good to eat in the house, EVER, will get a smile on his face with this recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those candy bars look delicious! And my brother used to do the same exact stick-the-tongue-out thing when coloring when we were little! Maybe he still does, I haven’t seen him color in a few decades, bahaha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

