A Bump in the Road..

Anyone in education knows that this is a rough time of year to be a teacher. Keeping the jumping beans students contained is like playing Whac-A-Mole at the arcade. You know, the one where you bop one varmint down and another one pops up..
It’s also a rough time of year to be a person with celiac. Last week I walked in to the teacher’s room and some of the parents had laid out a whole holiday spread. For a fleeting moment, I got so excited. Pumpkin roll, cake pops, sugar cookies…all of my favorites! And then I remembered….

I actually looked around the room to see if anyone else heard the voiceover in my head that said: Step away from the table. It was the first time since my diagnosis that I felt a real pang of sadness. It’s Christmastime and I can’t eat any of it….  So I made small talk for a few minutes, then retreated back to my classroom.
Not one to be deterred for too long, I went home to my kitchen and had my own party.  Chocolate pumpkin tart quickly turned that frown upside down.

The crust came together in no time:

IMG_0391

I don’t have a Vitamix blender so my filling didn’t come out quite as smooth as Audrey’s. And I was too impatient to do the swirled spiderweb effect, but a few chocolate chips on top did the trick:

IMG_0446

I shared some with the neighbors:

 

IMG_0453

And settled in to savor a piece for myself:

IMG_0451

IMG_0449

One thing I should say is that this is not your mom’s Cool Whip and chocolate pudding pie.  It’s a more sophisticated twist on an old fashioned classic. And it smoothes over the inevitable bumps of having to be gluten free (and a teacher) at Christmastime.

Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful.
~Norman Vincent Peale

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “A Bump in the Road..

  1. Kathy, thank you very much for sharing this. I enjoyed reading your experience leading up to the tart and your making process and observations 🙂 I’m so happy you got to enjoy something sweet after all. I know what you mean — something about desserts this time of year can definitely trigger that feeling of missing out. Whipping up a thing or two for yourself and even neighbors is a good way to remedy 😉 Maybe next year your treat can even make it to that table! And your tart looks beautiful — chocolate chips to the rescue and all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Audrey, I love that you stopped by and left me a nice message.. Clearly, I love your site and I’m so excited about your book! It’s people like you who make my journey easier and make this learning curve a whole lot more interesting and satisfying. Thank you. ❤

      Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by and for the words of encouragement. Yes, I’m slowly getting the hang of it. I like to think of it as a Great Adventure and between better health and finding kindred spirits in other bloggers, it’s been a fun journey so far!

      Like

      1. You will know that you have ‘arrived’ when you first think of yourself as “____*____”, and then, sometime later, you add, “Oh yeah, and I’m a celiac.”

        * insert own wonderful role in life

        Like

  2. That looks delicious!

    I feel your pain, sister. The tiniest invisible trace of wheat on my skin sends my whole body into panic mode, I have to steer clear of all of it and it makes Christmas a little lonely. What a wonderful treat to make for yourself. Could there be any food more comforting than a chocolate pie?

    Like

  3. I’m like you, my stuff doesn’t turn out as pretty as the original but does the trick! I also feel your pain for not being able to join in on the fun at parties. But, hey, look at this yummy and healthy alternative. I will sure try out this recipe. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

