Idioms and idiosyncrasies…

Good bread is the most fundamentally satisfying of all foods; and good bread with fresh butter, the greatest of feasts.
~ James Beard

Evidently I’ve been missing bread a lot these days. Last week I was reading a novel with a class and we read this line: “The fire’s lit, but the cauldron’s empty.” My student’s expressionless faces begged the question of what they knew about idioms. The sound of crickets coming back at me made me realize that I had to dial it back a bit and discuss what exactly an idiom is. Bringing it down to the basics and flying by the seat of my pants, the only idioms I could think of right off the top of my head were these:
The greatest thing since sliced bread.
Knowing which side one’s bread is buttered on.
Man cannot live by bread alone.
Cast one’s bread on the waters.
The breadwinner..

And every time I said one, it was as if Pavlov himself was right there ringing that bell because my mouth started to water..

I have yet to find a gluten free sandwich bread that I really like, whether homemade or store bought.  I’m working on it though.  In the meantime, this Brown Banana Bread has been satisfying my breakfast cravings for something beyond eggs or a smoothie.

You’ll need:

  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup (Grade B)
  • 2 cups flax seed meal
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Gently stir together dry ingredients:

FullSizeRender

Add in wet:

FullSizeRender_1

Gently stir to combine.  I have cooked mine in a couple of different ways:  as a flat bread spread out onto parchment paper on a cookie sheet, or as a muffin in a muffin tin.  Today I used my Pampered Chef divided pan:

IMG_0602

FullSizeRender_2

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown.

IMG_0606

My favorite way to eat them is with honey butter.  Just combine good quality, raw honey with some softened butter:

FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender_1

This morning I had some homemade strawberry jam and I used that instead:

IMG_0741

Delicious.

FullSizeRender_2

Gluten free doesn’t have to be taste free!  Especially with these nourishing little nuggets.

8 thoughts on “Idioms and idiosyncrasies…

  1. Those look interesting. I believe I have some flax meal in the freezer that’s been in there for quite a while. This would take a lot of it, so I may try it. I have not made anything with flax meal as the main ingredient like that. Usually my recipes use only a couple of tablespoons or so. I’m on a mission to use up things in my freezer in preparation of selling my house, so thanks for the recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

