An Honest Update..

Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.
~ Jim Rohn
Last Friday was my fourth trip over to the Cleveland Clinic. The drive has become second nature and the two hours is a nice time to get quiet and just be for awhile. I’m still not a fan of hospitals, but I continue to be impressed by the Clinic’s emphasis on a calming atmosphere. As described in another post, the music playing throughout the hallways is reminiscent of a day spa and that, coupled with their use of nature and reflection pools, truly does create an environment of hope and healing.

IMG_3260

There is an abundance of natural light:

IMG_4936

This is Dr. Young’s office where we sit and review my lab work:

IMG_3267

Dr. Young spent an hour with me comparing the lab work I had done last April (pre-Celiac diagnosis) to what I had done just a few weeks ago (8 months gluten-free).  The difference is remarkable.  My inflammation markers in April 2015 were skyrocketing around orbit.  With the elimination of gluten, the help of a nutritionist, and an overhaul of my food choices, those numbers have turned around and are headed back to earth.  The satisfaction on Dr. Young’s face put a smile on mine.

Driving home with my results sitting on the seat next to me, I couldn’t help but give thanks for this crazy journey.   I started cataloguing all the things that I have learned, but one in particular stands out above the rest:  Food is powerful medicine.  I have learned that it is responsible for not just how we look and feel, but how we think too.  For me, good health begins and ends with a happy gut.

Now, with that being said, I am by no means a perfect eater. (Oh, hello chocolate chips..)  However, this experience is making me a much more conscious eater.  I am on a mission to take the foods that I love and find healthier, more nutritious versions of them.

Let’s start with potato chips.  I grew up on them.  They were a staple of every packed lunch I ever carried to school with me.  And to this day, I still love them.  But I have learned that most are fried in highly inflammatory, highly refined and processed oils such as corn, soybean, canola, safflower, and sunflower oil. These are all omega 6-rich, inflammatory polyunsaturated fats and reduce the availability of anti-inflammatory omega 3 fats in our tissues.  Oy.

One day last fall as I was relaxing in Texas, I was reading an article by a renowned Integrative Medicine doctor.  He made mention of Jackson’s Honest Chips as a brand that he enjoys.  I did a quick store locator search and saw that they were available in a store close by, so off I went.  I fell in love at first bite.  I even returned a few days later to bring a few bags home to Pittsburgh with me.  Since that time, I have found a limited selection in my local Whole Foods.  The first day I saw them on the shelf, if the stock boy hadn’t been in the way, I would have done a cartwheel right there in that aisle.  I was so happy to see them!

Jackson’s Honest are “The Original Coconut Oil Chip”.  They are made with nutrient-dense, organic coconut oil.  Coconut oil’s main fat is lauric acid, a medium-chain fatty acid that positively impacts cholesterol levels. It also contains vitamins E and K, and iron, and has both antimicrobial and antifungal properties.  I’m now a coconut oil devotee and use it for both baking and cooking.  So when I fell in love with these chips and took a closer look at the company behind them, I discovered that Jackson’s Honest was started by a mother of four in Colorado.  Jackson is the name of her oldest son who has faced significant health issues since he was a toddler.  Jackson’s Honest Chips were created out of a need for nutritious snacks to feed him and his three younger siblings.  It’s quite a gut-wrenching and heartwarming story, and you can read it here.  These mouthwatering chips are cooked low and slow in small batches, and are vegan, gluten free and Paleo-friendly.

Just look at the golden goodness of these sweet potato chips:

IMG_0827

FullSizeRender-12

 

The kind folks at Jackson’s Honest would like to give one of my readers a selection of their chips.  By leaving me a comment below, you will be entered to win:

  • 1 bag of Sea Salt Potato Chips
  • 1 bag of Sweet Potato Chips
  • 1 bag of Barbecue Potato Chips
  • 1 bag of Salt and Vinegar Potato Chips
  • 1 bag of Yellow Corn Tortilla Chips
  • 1 bag of Salsa Fresca Tortilla Chips

Please leave a comment by 5:00 pm EST on Thursday, March 3rd.  Open to U.S. residents only.  I will then have the random generator choose a lucky recipient of 6 bags of Jackson’s Honest Chips.  I’m excited for one of you to try all 6!

In the meantime, visit jacksonshonest.com for more information and sign up for their newsletter for the chance to receive special offers.

I’m so grateful to this family in Colorado who have created a snack that I can enjoy while still taking care of my body.

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “An Honest Update..

  1. Will have to look for the chips here at whole foods. I too am a lover of coconut oil. Just discovered avocado oil too…have you tried! Love reading your blog! 🌴😀💕

    Like

  2. Fantastic Kath! Those test results must have felt like a real victory! And, finding a good snack chip is rare and wonderful too. I woudl love to try them. Hugs to you!

    Like

  3. So very happy for you, Kathy! ❤ It's super hard work to change eating habits. I love the way your blog offers camaraderie, guidance and inspiration to all of us out here on our own paths to good health. Keep up the great work. xoxo

    Like

  4. These chips look delicious. I believe they may just fit into my new way of eating too. I’ll be doing a detour to Whole Foods on my way home. Thanks Kath! 💕

    Like

  5. Glad to hear of your improved results. Those chips look delicious. Always looking for healthier alternatives to snacks. I will have to check them out. Thanks for the info.

    Like

  6. You are always inspiring to me and I am truly envious of what you’ve done . I am thrilled beyond words that your health has improved so much. Now, you just need to be my personal shopper and chef and I’ll be good!!!!! I hope I win!!!

    Like

  7. I remember those grade school lunches where I couldn’t wait to get into my chips… right on my chipped ham sandwich. Yes please!

    Like

  8. Kathy – you are such an inspiration! I am definitely going to have to try the chips you mentioned-we we are always looking for healthy snacking options!

    Like

Leave a Reply

