The Friendly Skies..

Let yourself be silently drawn by the pull of what you really love. It will not lead you astray.
~ Rumi

It was almost exactly one year ago that my girl received an email with a subject line that read “Fulbright Application Status.”  And that email announced:
Dear Ms. Bruton,
Congratulations! 
I am delighted to inform you that you have been selected for a 2015-16 Fulbright U.S. Student Award to Argentina.

She had worked so long and hard for this. Could a momma possibly be more proud?
In Buenos Aires she will be a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant, and cultural ambassador working for the Government of the City of Buenos Aires at a higher education language institution.

When that email came, March of 2016 seemed so far away.  And yet, here we are.

On Monday morning, the day of her departure, she woke me up out of a very deep sleep at the crack of dawn. She said she wanted to make sure that I wasn’t going to be sad (because that’s just the kind of girl she is). I had been in the middle of a wonderful dream where I was just about to eat an Oreo. So I made a deal with her. I said I wouldn’t be sad if she wouldn’t be mad that I was going back to sleep so I could go eat that Oreo. (I wasn’t kidding..) Her giggle was the perfect way to start the day..

We spent the week leading up to her departure getting her organized and packed, getting check-ups and copying documents. And of course we ate all of her favorite foods.
In spite of not looking a whole lot like me, she did inherit my penchant for sweets. I don’t know what it is with the two of us.. but chocolate chips in some form after a meal is like putting the cover on a parrots cage. It’s the ceremonial end to a meal and our stomachs then get quiet and happy.

These chocolate chip muffins kept us both content for a few days.  Other than the sugar in the dark chocolate chips, the recipe doesn’t call for any refined sugar.  The sweetness comes from the bananas.

FullSizeRender

The almond flour and flax meal provide a nutritious (gluten free) punch.

FullSizeRender_1

As with many gluten free baked goods, I was a bit skeptical that these were going to rise and still be moist.  But they did not disappoint.

IMG_0875

FullSizeRender

These got gobbled up pretty quickly and silenced the parrot in us both.

Was it hard to see her go on Monday?  It was.  And it always takes me a day or two to find my center of gravity again.  But there is so much satisfaction in watching her make her way in the world and being pulled to what she really loves.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Friendly Skies..

  1. Kath, great update. You write beautifully! You capture your feelings so nicely with the words you choose. Looking forward to hearing more in person. And I always want to make your desserts but I never do! 😦 but my kids would love it so I will try to make these muffins!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your daughters new position! That’s truly going to be an amazing experience.

    I’ll be on a long road trip tommorow to pick up my step-daughter for the week. Now I know what snack I’m going to make for the drive. Those muffins look amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

