Away She Goes..

 

Summer should get a speeding ticket.
~ Every Teacher

I go back to work tomorrow.  And I’ll let you in on a little secret:  I don’t want to go back to work tomorrow.

Not that I don’t love my students, because I do.  I teach great kids.  It’s just that I really, really like being at home.  If you look up “homebody” in the dictionary, you will find a big ole picture of me (right next to gullible and klutzy).  I like being home with my dog.  I like being home in my kitchen.  What can I say?

When I broke the news to Summer (the dog), this is how the conversation went:

Me:  Summer, I go back to school tomorrow.

Summer the Dog:  But why?

IMG_3185

Me:  Because someone’s gotta pay for all this dog food.

Summer the Dog You’re kiddin’ me, right?

IMG_3187

Me:  I’m not kidding Summer..

Summer the Dog:  ~phooey~

IMG_3183

Last week I had a teacher friend over for lunch so we could commiserate  catch up.  My brother had given me a box of his gorgeous home grown peaches, so I knew I wanted to make some kind of a dessert.  This Peach Galette had caught my eye on Instagram a few weeks ago.   What’s a galette you ask?  I have no idea but I assume it’s French for “lazy-man’s pie”.

It starts with a bowl full of peaches:

IMG_1597

And with some almond & coconut flours and a few simple ingredients, voila:

IMG_1602

I love the simplicity of it:

IMG_1601

I served it topped with So Delicious Dairy Free Coconut Whipped Topping and it was delicious, and gluten free of course!

IMG_1618

Here’s to a beautiful summer and the start of another school year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Away She Goes..

  1. Oh my gosh Kathy, I think this is your best post yet! Not only did I adore the commentary and photos you had with Summer, I have a bowl of local over ripe apples that I will apply your Galette recipe to! Love you and I hope today goes by swiftly so you can enjoy a whole bunch of hours that are left in the day when you get home. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oooh…. I feel so lucky: for the first time in twenty-eight years, I do not have to go through the pre back-to-school syndrome! Like you every end of summer I told my dog I didn’t want to go back, but then within a week I was on a roll again and when I said my final goodbye to my teenage students in July (so I could find the time to blog in English 😁, no, actually it was for family reasons: we’ll soon be leaving France to spend time with our children) it was quite traumatic.
    Anyway, loved your post and pictures. Very glad you went on my site. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love fruit galettes, and this one looks really good!! Your combination of flours is interesting. I’ll have to try it. Thanks for visiting my blog every once in awhile and liking my posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

