Dashboard Confessional..

I can resist everything except temptation.

~ Oscar Wilde

Even though Christmas is old news at this point, I’m still basking in the glow of the memories.  My girl was home for an entire month and you talk about a beautiful gift?  The best. We packed a lot into those days & nights, but the beauty of it all was just being together.   We took a ‘little’ drive down to Texas.  Two days of travel, one night in a hotel with a rambunctious puppy. Then we did it all in reverse ten days later.  And you know what?  I would do it all over again in a heartbeat.  There’s just something about having your kid captive in a car.  Any parent knows that feeling, right?

Here’s the thing about being on the road for that long:  you start to get hungry.  And good, clean, fresh food isn’t that easy to come by.  Sure we packed some, but space didn’t permit for much.  So I must confess that I stumbled a few steps back.  Did I remain gluten free?  Yes.  100%.  Grain free?  Mostly.  Dairy free?  Not so much.  Sugar free?  Well, that would be a whopping No.   Let’s just say that those aluminum-foiled chocolate Santa’s just Ho-Ho-Ho’d their way right into my belly.  And the Godiva chocolates that the Tall Texan brought home from the office just followed suit.

You’ll have those days (or weeks), right?  It all left me feeling a bit yuck, and I knew it was time for a reset.  So on the drive home we talked about getting back to clean food.

And this is how you know that your kid is a certified grown up:  when she asks for a kale salad.  This, coming from the child whose palate would only allow for chicken fingers, macaroni & cheese and peanut butter sandwiches for the first 18 years of her life. So when she asks for a kale salad–you make a kale salad.

img_1864

On January 14th, after a beautiful month together, I put her back on a plane for Argentina.  There are no words to describe a mother’s emotions of launching her child into the world… but I take heart knowing that she will now eat her veggies…

January 15th marked the date of my official reset. And I wasn’t going it alone.  My young & vibrant nutritionist at the Cleveland Clinic Center for Functional Medicine was collaborating with a medical student friend of hers and hosting the 28 Day Healthy Self Reset.  Even though we are entering week 3, it’s not too late to join in. All grocery shopping lists, meal planners and recipes are still available.  This program is a no sugar, no dairy, no gluten, no soy, plan that will have you feeling great again.  And not once have I felt hungry or deprived.  Not even once.

Here are some of my favorites so far.

Egg muffins.  Packed with veggies & protein:

img_1891

 

Spinach Turkey Burgers.  The tastiest burger I’ve ever made:

img_1929

Cinnamon Power Balls for a snack. Little bombs of healthy fats,  protein and fiber to keep you full & focused until the next delicious meal:

img_1946

Here is a glimpse of the meal plan for this week for which I’ll start prepping today:

img_1950

With tools like this, it doesn’t get any easier.

While my temptation to get on a plane and follow my daughter to Argentina is alive and well, my nutritional choices are back on track.  To that, I say Cheers to a New Year.  

 

 

5 thoughts on “Dashboard Confessional..

  1. Great approach to health and realistic living. Eating “clean” is important, however, REALITY (for most people) includes deviating from quality eating. People need not feel “guilty” enjoying comfort type foods. When a person is in CONTROL of their life, CHOOSING to deviate is fine. Problems only exist when CONTROL is lost. If a person decides to eat pie and drink wine on Thanksgiving and MAKES THIS DECISION PRIOR to the holiday, they are in CONTROL. If the “smells” of the food on Thanksgiving stimulate “cravings” that you succumb to, you are out of control. Creating the right MINDSET is an important first step. You demonstrate this concept in your post.

    Welcome to the New Year (30 days already in the making.) I wish you much joy, happiness, and most of all, GOOD HEALTH!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another great post Kath!! Love ya girl. That reset is sounding like what I need! Holy crow I am not doing well on food, great on exercise, but not food. And I think food is way more important! Love how you continue to inspire me my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

